Tennis programme nominated for award

by | Jul 5, 2021 | Ackworth School, Sport

Ackworth School is delighted to have been shortlisted in the Independent Schools of the Year 2021 awards. The nomination is in the Community award category for the school’s Tennis Outreach Programme.

The project, jointly funded by the Tim Henman Foundation and Ackworth School has helped local coach Alice Robson bring tennis to nearly 2,000 pupils at 28 local primary schools. In partnership with the Lawn Tennis Association, the programme has also generated nearly 200 new members to Ackworth Tennis Club.

Tom Shennan-Barker, Director of Marketing and Admissions at Ackworth School said, “We are proud to have been shortlisted for the Independent Schools of the Year 2021 awards. Our tennis outreach programme has been so successful in giving thousands of primary school children the opportunity to learn new skills, and this shortlisting is in recognition of that.”

Celebrating community engagement

Recently, Tim Henman visited Ackworth School to celebrate the unique partnership. Nearly 100 primary children from the area participated in the event, including pupils from Ackworth’s Coram House junior school.

During the visit, Alice, LTA’s Development Coach of the Year delivered coaching together with Henman himself. Henman was on hand to share his experiences from a 15-year playing career. In that time he reached six Grand Slam semi-finals and won 15 ATP career titles.

At the event, Tim Henman said: “I am delighted to be at Ackworth today and see more young tennis stars coming through the pipeline. Talent is spread evenly across the country but sadly opportunity is not. This is why this Foundation initiative in association with the LTA, Ackworth School and Ackworth Tennis Club is so important.”

Independent Schools of the Year finalists will be revealed on 7 September. Judges will then meet again to reach a decision on the winner of each category. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in October.

Read more about Tim Henman’s visit to Ackworth School.